Maison Louis Jadot is one of the biggest and most reputed négociants in Burgundy, which one of the most reconisable and iconic labels. Today, they control over 210 hectares of vines that are scattered all across Burgundy, from the northern area of the Côte d'Or to the southern area of Beaujolais.
The company was originally founded by Louis Henry Denis Jadot in 1859. But even before then, the story of Maison Jadot had its roots in the vineyards, with the Jadot family's purchase of the Clos des Ursules, a Beaune Premier Cru, in 1826. The négociant house, under his guidance, expanded rapidly. His son, Louis Jean Baptiste, eventually took over the management of the company in 1900, and expanded operations by buying numerous vineyards, including Corton Charlemagne and Chevalier Montrachet Les Demoiselles. The next generation, under the guidance of Louis Auguste Jadot, developed new export markets, particularly those in England and the US, with the help of Rudy Kopf, the founder of the Kobrand Corporation.
In 1954, André Gagey joined the company as Louis Auguste Jadot's deputy and in 1962, André Gagey succeeded him as Maison Jadot's director. In 1970, Gagey took on a young winemaker, Jacques Lardière, as his assistant. And, in 1984, André Gagey's son, Pierre-Henry, joined the company. In 1985, in order to ensure the company's future, Madame Jadot decided to sell the company to the family of Rudy Kopf, Jadot's US importer, who still retains the company today.